IV National Congress of Silviculture

The IV National Congress of Silviculture (Turin, 5-9 November 2018) was organized by the Italian Academy of Forest Sciences with the collaboration of the Piemonte Region and the University of Turin and the support of the most important academic and scientific institutions and forestry and environmental organizations.

The Congress was organized in Scientific sessions, Round Tables, Field trips and various activities in the city of Turin open to the public.

Abstract book


Plenary session

  1.  Forest ecology and genetics for the sustainable management
  2.  Silviculture, biodiversity and Wildlife
  3. Silviculture and forest protection
  4. Silviculture, landscape and impacts on land use changes
  5. Urban and periurban forests and ecosystems services
  6. Silviculture and forest and and silvopastoral productions
  7. Forestry and forest economy
  8. Innovations in forest operations
  9. Forest monitoring and planning
  10. Timber/wood plantations and agroforestry
  11. Research, innovation and perspectives in the forest-wood chain
  12. Silviculture and wildfire
  13. Forest protection
  14. Forest policies and institutions

Roadmap Life AforClimate & GoPro FOR LIFE

Round tables

  1.  Inter-institutional cooperation in the forestry sector
  2. New theories in silviculture
  3. Forest management and comunication
  4. The Act No 34 of 3rd April 2018, i.e. the Consolidated Text on forests and forest industry
  5. Sustainable forest management in protected areas: national parks and nature reserves
  6. Forest Sciences between University and iob

The full video of the New theories in silviculture round table is available online

Contributions have been published in the journal Annals of Silvicultural Research (pdf contributions) and in the journal “L’Italia Forestale e Montana” (pdf contributions)

Organizing Committee

Orazio Ciancio (Presidente) – Accademia Italiana di Scienze Forestali; Giovanni Bovio – Accademia Italiana di Scienze Forestali; Filippo Brun – Università di Torino; Pier Mario Chiarabaglio – CREA;Marco Corgnati – Regione Piemonte; Piermaria Corona – CREA; Franco Ferraresi – Regione Piemonte; Marco Marchetti – Università del Molise; Gianfranco Minotta – Università di Torino; Renzo Motta – Università di Torino; Susanna Nocentini – Università di Firenze; Alessandra Stefani – MIPAAF

Scientific Committee

Orazio Ciancio  (President) – Accademia Italiana di Scienze Forestali; Andrea Battisti – Università di Padova; Carlo Blasi – Sapienza, Università di Roma; Marco Borghetti – Università della Basilicata; Giovanni Bovio – Accademia Italiana di Scienze Forestali; Filippo Brun – Università di Torino; Lorenzo Camoriano  – Regione Piemonte; Paolo Capretti – Università di Firenze; Leonardo Casini – Università di Firenze; Raffaele Cavalli – Università di Padova; Giacomo Certini  – Università di Firenze; Gherardo Chirici – Università di Firenze; Rinaldo Comino – Regione Friuli Venezia Giulia; Piermaria Corona – CREA; Alessandro Crosetti – Università di Torino; Davide De Laurentis – Vice Comandante Carabinieri Forestali; Sandro Dettori – Università di Sassari; Gianni Facciotto – CREA; Nicoletta Ferrucci – Università di Padova; Marco Fioravanti–  Università di Firenze; Raffaello Giannini – Accademia Italiana di Scienze Forestali; Paolo Gonthier – Università di Torino; Amerigo  Hofmann – Accademia Italiana di Scienze Forestali; Francesco Iovino – Università della Calabria; Raffaele Lafortezza – Università di Bari; Vittorio Leone – Università della Basilicata; Federico Maetzke – Università di Palermo; Federico Magnani – Università di Bologna; Marco Marchetti – Università del Molise; Enrico Marchi – Università di Firenze; Augusto Marinelli – Università di Firenze; Luigi Masutti – Accademia Italiana di Scienze Forestali; Giorgio Matteucci – CNR; Gianfranco Minotta – Università di Torino; Paolo Mori  – Compagnia delle Foreste; Renzo Motta – Università di Torino; Susanna Nocentini – Università di Firenze; Alessandro Paletto – CREA; Nazario Palmieri – Carabinieri Forestali; Elena Paoletti – CNR
Franco Pedrotti – Università di Camerino; Davide Pettenella – Università di Padova; Luigi Portoghesi – Università della Tuscia; Cristina Ricaldone – Regione Piemonte; Antonio Ricciardi – Gen. C.A. Carabinieri Forestali; Federico Roggero – Università di Teramo; Manuela Romagnoli – Università della Tuscia; Raoul Maria Romano – CREA; Severino Romano – Università della Basilicata; Fabio Salbitano – Università di Firenze; Giovanni Sanesi – Università di Bari; Giuseppe Scarascia Mugnozza  – Università della Tuscia; Roberto Scotti – Università di Sassari; Donatella Spano  – Università di Sassari; Raffaele Spinelli  – CNR; Alessandra Stefani – MIPAAF; Andrea Tani – Università di Firenze; Roberto Tognetti – Università del Molise; Davide Travaglini – Università di Firenze; Roberto Zanuttini – Università di Torino.

With the support of

Public events

Congress venue

Centro “Torino Incontra”, via Nino Costa 8, Turin (Italy)